Posts Tagged » longman

Bells History 101

By

Jan 17, 2014 About Bells, Discover Broken Hill, History of Bells, Milk Bar Stories , , , , , , , , , , , , 4 Comments

Bells Milk Bar started out as a small confectionery store called ‘F. Fenton Confectioner’ in 1892.  The original building was situated on the same site that Bells now occupies.  Frederick Fenton was also a cordial maker.  Mr Fenton hired John Joseph Longman as his apprentice. By 1908, Fenton still owned the store, but Longman was left in charge of the Patton Street store.  Eventually Longman acquired the business. Les Bell’s mother, Minnie Pearl Davis joined the business in 1903, as an apprentice cordial maker, and later married Mr Longman. Minnie Pearl had three children to Longman: Eric, Robert and Eunice.  [...]